The Arkell Museum
The project encompassed 18,800 sf of new construction which included new Gallery space, collections storage area, educational and office space as well as a new Great Hall space for large gatherings and presentations. Renovation occurred in 7,000 sf of the existing 16,600 sf Library.
In addition to enhancing the visitor experience and showcasing the outstanding art collection under the Foundation’s care, an appealing outdoor space for festivals and concerts was created. The Canajoharie Library and Art Center was founded in 1924 both as the town’s public library and a museum of American Art. The art gallery enjoys a reputation as one of the finest small galleries in the United States and has a permanent collection of more than 350 paintings and works of sculpture highlighting the development of American Art from colonial times through the mid-20th century. The collection includes works by Winslow Homer, Andrew Wyeth, George Inness, Grandma Moses, Frederick Remington, John Singer Sargent and Childe Hassaam.
Major sitework was done and landscaping installed to entice travelers on the New York State Thruway to visit Canajoharie. A steel fence encloses the Memorial Garden with access from the Museum as part of the visual experience. A town square area with a flowing water feature accents the main entrance. The parking lot was expanded and additional site lighting was incorporated. The Gallery was closed from April 2005 through September 2007 to complete the work.
In June 2006, the Mohawk Valley experienced catastrophic flooding. At this time, the Museum was at 60% completion. The new basement flooded, damaging newly installed mechanical and elevator equipment. Delays ensued due to remediation efforts and ordering of new equipment. Provisions were incorporated into the project to protect the museum from future flooding.